The Snake Takes a Breath

Conscious,
The snake takes a breath,
Venomous,
As the day it was made,

The creeper of circumstance,
Affinities change,
The servant of emptiness,
The sycophant in my way,

Please can you resist for my sake,
Dont talk I cant stand the stench,
Your nails have the taint of a slave,
You are not worthy of my brand of pain

With bloodied lips,
I lean in for a kiss
But the salted air lingers,
Psychic vampire of piss,
I know you,
I see right through,
Tell me lies,
I smell the truth

With whip clenched in hand,
My flesh pound is flayed,
To suffer fools,
Willingly?,
Salt the ground where they stay,
In undergound romance,
Evny of the day,
The dance of the earth worm,
Between fingers of gray

The oracle of ignorance,
Feed the sheep on acid rain,
The departure of there godliness,
Babbled man to twist and change,
Responsible for nothing,
That is the new way,

Forked tounge persuasion,
Enamaled embrace,
Talk,
Talk,
Then talk somemore,
Distracts the brain from further thought,

Cosmic relation,
Imagined inside,
Thought,
Talked,
Then thought somemore,
The rotten human mind

With whip clenched in hand,
My flesh pound is flayed,
To suffer fools,
Willingly?,
Salt the ground where they stay,
In undergound romance,
Evny of the day,
The dance of the earth worm,
Between fingers of gray

4 thoughts on “The Snake Takes a Breath

  1. Really enjoyed the imagery with the snake (venomous servant) and “pound of flesh” (as in sacrifice) I like where this went. Check your edits, are you ending the stanzas using a comma purposely or is it stylistic? My editor used to bust my balls about staying consistent (I think you’re trying to unite two stanzas rather than starting a new idea.) Just a heads up.

    Like

    1. I will not pretend to be an expert on the technical aspects of writing. I didn’t attend any education higher than high school. Thankyou for your feedback, much appreciated. I’m always trying to improve to better express my thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I failed Grade 12 English and never studied poetry. Sometimes these things just come to us naturally and that’s why good poetry is relatable. I only know the things I know because I had people close to me beat me with the grammar and punctuation stick. It’s more about the message…always

        Like

Leave a Reply

